top of page

Intro to working with the Chakra

Updated: Apr 16

Growing up a dancer I was no stranger to spending a lot of time stretched and twisted into awkward positions, so in my late teens when my dance time gave way to full-time employment, it seemed a natural step to take up Yoga as a way to keep my body moving. What surprises me now though is that it took another 7 years of Yoga practice to be introduced to the truth that Yoga is not just a physical practice, in fact, it is a deeply spiritual one… I guess as they say, when the student is ready, the teacher appears.

I have such fond memories of my mid twenties, sitting lotus pose in a beautiful heritage home located right on the river front. It's mid winter and the fireplace is roaring, outside the sky is dark and my children are safely tucked up in bed at home. I was the youngest in that room by far as we sat around, week after week, discussing spirituality, union with the Divine and weaving yogic principles into our everyday life, but it was the first time I felt like I truly belonged somewhere. Guided by this beautiful Yoga teacher who arrived in my life just at the time I was struggling to accept my clairvoyant and mediumships abilities, I will forever be grateful to the way she introduced me to the pathway of the soul through understanding and working with the Chakra. As I was going through this massive awakening in my life, that at the same time felt like this un-doing, these sessions for me were this grounding force. Energy is ever-present, we are all spirit, our soul never truly dies were these truths I’d always known somewhere underneath, but here, in this room, with these people, it’s like we were being given a map. A pathway to follow both inwards and upwards, accounts of century old stories of peoples union with the divine, through this acceptance of self and this knowledge of… Chakra.

What are Chakra?

The seven chakra are an important concept in Eastern spirituality. The word "chakra" comes from the Sanskrit word meaning "wheel" or "disk" and refers to the seven energy centers in the body, as at their optimum function they will look and feel like a wheel or vortex of energy. These energy centers are located along the spine and are associated with different physical, emotional, and spiritual states. The role of the chakra system is to help regulate the human energy field, commonly known as the aura.

Understanding how to fine tune and control your chakra through meditation and energy healing practices can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body and spirit. When you discover the power of this energy that resides within you, you begin to accept and acknowledge all facets of your being, connecting deeper to who you are at soul level, and coming home to your true self.

Each chakra is associated with a specific color, element, and function, and governs specific areas of the body as well as emotional states, behavioural issues, personality, identity, natural strengths and challenges etc.

The seven chakras, in order from the base of the spine to the top of the head, are:

1. Muladhara (Root Chakra) - associated with the color red and the element earth, governs the base of the spine and the legs, and is associated with grounding and physical survival.

2. Svadhishthana (Sacral Chakra) - associated with the color orange and the element water, governs the lower abdomen and the reproductive organs, and is associated with emotions, sexuality, and creativity.

3. Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra) - associated with the color yellow and the element fire, governs the stomach and upper abdomen, and is associated with willpower, self-esteem, and personal power.

4. Anahata (Heart Chakra) - associated with the color green and the element air, governs the heart and lungs, and is associated with love, compassion, and balance.

5. Vishuddha (Throat Chakra) - associated with the color blue and the element ether, governs the throat and ears, and is associated with communication and self-expression.

6. Ajna (Third Eye Chakra) - associated with the color indigo and the element light, governs the third eye and is associated with intuition, wisdom, and spiritual insight.

7. Sahasrara (Crown Chakra) - associated with the color purple and the element thought, governs the top of the head and is associated with spiritual connection and enlightenment. So how do I heal my Chakra?

When all the chakra are aligned and in balance, it leads to a healthy body, mind and spirit. A blockage or imbalance in any of the chakra can contribute to physical and emotional issues. There are many ways in which you can care for the health of your chakra including through Yoga and meditation…try my free chakra clearing meditation here. Simply bringing awareness to each of your chakra can help you connect deeper to your own inner wisdom and can start to bring some balance back to your chakra.

When you come for an Energy Balance we look deep into your chakra health and using various tools and techniques (including crystals, energy healing, kinesiology, remedies/oils and talk therapy) we bring back a state of balance to your energetic system allowing healing to take place. Energy Balance is a powerful yet relaxing way to take care of your chakra and your overall energetic health… which then ripples out into all areas of your life.

Personally, for me, it was when I studied to become a Chakradance™ Facilitator that all these teachings and practices really came to life in this embodied way, and to this day it's one of my favourite ways to connect with these all-important energy centres.

Chakradance™ is a movement therapy practice that uses spontaneous dance to specific chakra-resonant music. Based in Jungian-psychology, Chakradance™ classes and courses invite you to surrender to the music of each chakra, to dance from the inside out where you will safely find yourself awakening and healing ancient hurts; expressing – often for the first time – long-blocked emotions; and opening yourself up to levels of spiritual connection higher than you thought possible.

To be notified when registration opens for my next Chakradance™ course click here.

And let me know in the comments below which of your chakra do you feel are more dominant in your life? Are there any that you may recognise from the table above that may need some more care and attention? About the Author: Kylie Paekau is a Psychic Medium, Energy Healer and Meditation teacher as well as a busy Mama of five. Kylie offers Mediumship Readings, Clairvoyant Reading and Energy Healing from her clinic in Hamilton, New Zealand as well as via Zoom. Kylie is available for speaking gigs and for guest work at Spiritual Retreat.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page